skip to main content

Instructional Development Center Leadership

  • Anna serves as the Director for Online Learning and Instructional Technologies for Heartland Community College since 2019.  Anna began her career as the Computer Science Instructor for Allen Community College in Iola, Kansas where she managed the Carl Perkins funding as well as developed new program for the Kansas Board of Regents called “Production Media”. She worked on articulation agreements and assessment initiatives where she was an active member of various AQIP committees.

    After a long tenure at Allen, she then began working as an Instructional Designer where she designed and developed course design rubrics and faculty evaluation metrics. Later, she took the position of Director of the IT Institute at Butler Community College, a TAACCCT grant through the Department of Labor. Over 400 courses were redesigned in alignment to industry standards in which was organized through Advisory Boards. Recently, Anna has been working at Emporia State University where she led successfully managed over 500,000 in grant initiatives that were used to support faculty research and educational technologies. Some of those technologies include Virtual Reality, Artificial Intelligence and 3D printing.

    Anna received the 2016 Emporia State University Employee of the Year Award and in 2017 received the “Assessment Champion” award for Emporia State.  She has a Ph.D. in Education and an MS in Instructional Design and Technology. In 2017, Anna earned her Accessibility Certifications from the Department of Homeland Security (Trusted Tester) and the Montana MOOC on Accessibility Certification. She has recently completed the top-level certification for Quality Matters, the Master Course Reviewer.

    • MSEd-Northern Illinois University, Reading
    • BS-MacMurray College, Elementary Education
    • Dewitt Bingham, Associate Adjunct Professor of Criminal Justice
    • Kari Donoho, Associate Professor of Mathematics
    • Julie Fraser-Lindsey, Associate Professor of English
    • Thuong Jongky, Professor II of Biology & Chemistry
    • Janice Malak, Professor I of Sociology
    • Tara Morris, Instructor of Nursing
    • George Mueller, Associate Adjunct Professor
    • Doug Salokar, Professor II of Music
    • Phil Vandiver, Professor II of Digital Media Technology
    • Liz Hoisington, Sociology 
    • Todd Simeone, Information Technology
    • Kari Donoho, Mathematics
    • Kim McHale, Mathematics
    • Linda Lambert, Business Technology 
    • Cherie Rankin, English
    • Francine Armenth-Brothers, Health 
    • Phil Vandiver, Digital Media Communication
    • Joni Jecklin, Psychology
    • Janice Malak, Sociology
    • Nancy Evans, Business


    • Daryl Menke, Physical Therapy Assistant
    • Jeremy Bachelor, Spanish
    • Terry Lowe, Business
    • Matt Lathrop, Mathematics
    • Cristina Prestin-Latham, Psychology 
    • Wayne Bass, Humanities 
    • Lisa Cole, Reading
    • Janet Beach-Davis, Science 

Contact the IDC

2401 Student Commons Building
Heartland Community College
1500 West Raab Road
Normal, IL 61761

Anna J. Catterson, Ph.D.

Director of Online Learning and Instructional Technologies
SCB Suite 2300 
Phone: 309-268-8297

Jewel Crowley-Custis

Program Assistant, Academic Affairs
SCB Suite 2300
Phone: 309-268-8017

Stephanie Kratz

Coordinator of Faculty Academies 
Phone: 309-268-8606

Martha Stearns

Coordinator of Faculty Academies
Phone: 309-268-8677