skip to main content

International Education Committee

International Education Statement

Heartland has a stated commitment to promote International Education and serve as a resource to unique and innovative learning opportunities for our community. Towards that end, and in recognition of the significant and lasting positive impact that a global perspective can bring, Heartland encourages expanding the international perspective to both students and faculty through memberships in the Illinois Consortium for International Study Programs (ICISP), through whom students can study abroad, and faculty can gain valuable professional development.

Furthermore, Heartland welcomes many international students to our community through International Programs. Please refer to http://www.heartland.edu/international/index.html or call 309-268-8043 for more information.

International Education Committee

The International Education Committee (IEC) is the advisory body to the International Programs office tasked with reviewing matters related to international curriculum and programs. The goal of this committee is to provide a coordinating body in order to facilitate connections and dialog across departments and programs in regards to international initiatives and global education

Charge

  • Increase the global competencies of all students and staff
  • Create meaningful cultural interactions and exchange between international and domestic students
  • Provide a discourse community for input on matters pertaining to study abroad and other international education issues 

Members

Jeremy Bachelor
Assistant Professor of Spanish
Liberal Arts and Social Sciences
jeremy.bachelor@heartland.edu
Department Phone: 309-268-8620

Wayne Bass
Instructor of Humanities
Liberal Arts and Social Sciences
wayne.bass@heartland.edu
Department Phone: 309-268-8620

Sanae Ferrier
Adjunct Instructor II
Liberal Arts and Social Sciences
sanae.ferrier@heartland.edu
Department Phone: 309-268-8620

Paul Folger
Professor I of Political Science
Liberal Arts and Social Sciences
paul.folger@heartland.edu
Department Phone: 309-268-8590

Shamelle Grabill
Tutoring Facilitator 
Tutoring Services
Shamelle.Grabill@heartland.edu
Department Phone: 309-268-8242

Jill Harper
Information Services Librarian
Student Success
jill.harper@heartland.edu
Department Phone: 309-268-8292

Gavin Lee (Chair)
Associate Director of International Programs
Student Success
gavin.lee@heartland.edu
Department Phone: 309-268-8026 

Janice Malak
Professor II of Sociology
Liberal Arts and Social Sciences
janice.malak@heartland.edu
Department Phone: 309-268-8590

Christopher Miller
Professor II of Industrial Technology
STEM and Business
chris.miller@heartland.edu
Department Phone: 309-268-8860

Zach Petrea
Professor I of English
Liberal Arts and Social Sciences
zach.petrea@heartland.edu
Phone: 309-268-8613

Contact Us

International Admission

Email: international.admissions@heartland.edu
Phone: 309-268-8010

Gavin Lee

Associate Director of International Programs
Primary Designated School Official (PDSO)
Email: gavin.lee@heartland.edu
Phone: 309-268-8043

Zach Petrea

Study Abroad Coordinator
ICISP Representative
Email: zach.petrea@heartland.edu
Phone: 309-268-8613
Study Abroad CONTACT FORM